Wellow Primary School


Our Governors

 From December 2020 when we became part of The University of Winchester Academy Trust (UWinAT), our governing body became a Local Academy Committee, working alongside our Trustees who have overall responsibility for our five schools. This means that our governors focus only on Wellow and Awbridge, but the schools benefits from excellent support and advice of trustees.

Wellow and Awbridge Local Academy Committee 

Chair of Governors 

Sam Woods - Co-opted Governor

Sam lives in West Wellow and became a co-opted governor in February 2021. His eldest son currently attends Wellow School. Sam is a Chemical Engineer working in the Oil Industry and has always had an interest in becoming a governor and supporting children’s education. He is keen to provide support to the schools of Wellow and Awbridge in their continuous development and improvement utilising his skills from his career to support this. Sam has specific responsibility for communication and marketing as well as governor training

Vice chair of Governors

Roger Savage started as a parent governor over 20 years ago and is now a co opted governor and chair of the governing body. Roger created and runs a business near Romsey and is able to bring some of the experiences learned to that of school governance. A believer in giving every child the best opportunities that the schools can give and in particular looking beyond academic disciplines towards life experiences and skills that are so important for our children growing up in the complex and ever demanding world today.

designated safeguarding governor

Ruth Easton has lived in West Wellow since 1993 and her daughter attended Wellow Primary School in the 1990s. She retired from full time teaching several years ago after serving Hampshire County Council as a junior school teacher for 35 years. The majority of her career was spent in upper key stage 2, so she has a strong understanding of the expectations for this age group. She is keen to see all children achieve their potential by engaging in an exciting and broad curriculum. Previously, Ruth has served as a staff governor for 8 years in a junior school near Totton.


 Mark Davis – Parent Governor

Mark has been a school Governor since February 2018, a Chartered Surveyor by profession, Mark runs a local surveying practice based in Winchester. Mark has a keen interest in ensuring the all children are given the best possible start and support in the formative years of education. Having  lived locally within Romsey all his life and with both of his boys currently attending Awbridge school, he is keen to ensure the continued development of the schools. Bringing experience of running his own business for the past 15 years and ensuring that where possible he can support the school, staff and most importantly the pupils.



Helen Wheelwright - Co-opted Governor

Helen lives in East Dean and became a governor in February 2021. She has taught French and German in a number of schools in Hampshire since 1987 and her daughter attended Awbridge Primary School. Now retired, Helen would like to support the primary schools in Awbridge and Wellow, the children who attend the schools and all who work there. Helen has specific responsibility for SEND


 Rianna Arshad - Parent Governor

Rianna was elected as a parent governor in November 2021 and has 3 children currently attending Wellow Primary School. The family have lived in the village for nearly 4 years.

When not being a Mum, Rianna works as a Doctor in the Children’s A and E Department at Southampton General Hospital. This gives her a unique insight into how health and education impact each other. She has also been part of improvement projects within the NHS and hopes to use these skills as a governor.

Rianna will act as the governor link for the Creative Collaborative with the Art’s Council over the next 3 years.


Phil Le Gros - Parent Governor

Phil lives in Awbridge and joined as a Governor in April 2023. Bringing experience from his varied career in the IT sector, including working abroad and supporting mental health initiatives, he sees Awbridge and Wellow schools as critical parts of the community, and believes every child deserves the best opportunities that the schools can provide. Passionate about inclusion and developing life experiences which complement academic school life, Phil wants to ensure the schools help children to discover passions that will stay with them for life. 


Staff Governor - Laura Ackland

Laura became a staff governor in April 2023. She has been teaching for 12 years and has a member of staff at Awbridge for the last 7 years having previously worked at Wellow. Laura is the English and Computing Leader at Awbridge and enjoys sharing new books and technologies to enhance our curriculum. She completed the National Professional Qualification in Leading Professional Development in 2022 and hopes to use the skills she has learnt to support her roles both within school and as a governor.


Chris Stephens - Co-opted Governor   

Chris began living in East Wellow two years ago and became a governor in January 2024.  Prior to this, Chris has had a long standing connection with the community of Wellow, his wife grew up in the village and attended Wellow School herself.  Chris is currently Deputy Headteacher for the Quality of Education at The Romsey School and has held numerous other roles within education including being a Head of Mathematics for 10 years, a Professional Development Lead with the National Centre for Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics (NCETM) and a Leading Mathematics Teacher with Hampshire County Council.  He brings vast knowledge and experience of education and curriculum development through his role at Secondary Education level and has completed a Masters in Education at The University of Southampton.  Chris is excited to explore Early Years and Primary curriculum through his work as a governor and is looking forward to working with staff, pupils and the community in which he lives.  You might occasionally spot Chris out in either Awbridge or Wellow whilst he's out on one of his runs or walking his dog.

Local Area Committee (ID 1054)




Roger Savage 
Ruth Easton 
Rianna Arshad Parent
Beth Larcombe
Laura Ackland Staff 
Sam Woods Co-opted
Helen Wheelwright Co-opted
Phil Le Gros Parent
Mark Davis Parent
Chris Stephens Co-opted
Show list Show Grid